Home 9 MISA Zambia Media Awards 2021

MISA Zambia Media Awards 2021


MISA Zambia is calling for entries for this year’s awards gala which are open effective 31st July 2020 and close on 4th September 2020.

Awards Objectives

  1. To promote media excellence among journalists in the country,
  2. To promote professional journalism,
  3. To promote Freedom of Expression and positive media policy development,
  4. To enhance creativity in the media,
  5. To promote academic media excellence,
  6. To recognize individuals and institutions that have performed exceptionally well in their duty to inform, entertain and educate the public or have done something substantial to promote media freedom, access to information on socio-economic issues in Zambia including promotion of democracy and good governance


MISA Zambia is a membership driven organization that was established in 1996, as a national chapter of a regional non-governmental organisation (NGO), MISA. The mandate of MISA Zambia is to promote a sustainable, non-partisan, independent, plural and diverse media that informs and empowers society, promotes democracy, good governance, freedom of expression and media freedom in an ethical, competent and professional manner. Further, it is within the remit of the organization to promote freedom of expression and access to information by the media and the general public.

In line with the foregoing objectives the National Governing Council (NGC) of MISA Zambia in 2019 made changes to the format and calendar for the media awards ceremony. These changes have come as a result of the first ever Media Awards Policy which MISA has ever produced and will; going forward, be a guide as to how such awards will be conducted.

As a result of this Media Awards Policy, the number of media awards has been reduced to ONLY SIX (6), that is, those purely sponsored by MISA, while organizations are at liberty to sponsor any other awards as shall be prescribed; provided that such will meet the conditions stipulated in the new Media Awards Policy.

MISA further renamed some awards by additional terms such as Platinum Award, which is the Media Freedom Award, and the other category of Golden Awards. These changes, particularly the reduction in number of awards have been made to improve competitiveness, quality and value of the awards. It is a paradigm shift from an apparent quantity that has been characteristic of MISA Awards in the past.

More importantly too, the changes are meant to ensure that Journalists or prospective entrants undertake quality work and input to avoid rushed-in submissions merely driven by monetary motive. The changes to the calendar are also in line with some important United Nations Calendar Events in September such as the International Day of Democracy on 15th September, and the Access to Information (ATI) day on 28th September, both of which resonate well with the principles and objectives of MISA.  Consequently, the calendar for media awards has also been moved from April, to a Friday between 15th and 28th September every year. Therefore, this year, the awards gala will be held on 25th September 2020.

Award Explanation
1.       Platinum Award


(formerly Media Freedom Award)

This is the highest award given by MISA Zambia and is awarded to individuals, institutions, journalists and media houses for their exceptional efforts towards promoting media freedom and freedom of expression in Zambia; including the right of access to information. It is not open for entries.
2.       Golden TV Award



This award recognizes the most outstanding journalist in Television or the best television station
3.       Golden Radio Award



This award recognizes the most outstanding journalist in Radio or the most outstanding radio station
4.       Golden Community Media Award



This award recognizes the most outstanding journalist in community media or the most outstanding community media institution
5.       Golden Online Media Award



This award recognizes the most outstanding journalist in online media or the best online media institution
6.       Golden Print Media Award



This award recognizes the most outstanding journalist in print media or the best print media house
Award Explanation
Best reporting in ending Child Marriage



This award recognizes the most outstanding Journalist in Television, Radio and Print media that champion gender Equity and Equality in their reporting. It seeks to promote the positive portrayal of women in the media, to sensitise society with an objective of discouraging cultural norms, traditions that promote child marriages. The award further recognizes media reporting that promotes the retention of the girl child in the school system and advocacy for legal and policy reform in various sectors to encourage girl child education.
Best Reporting Child Rights



This award recognizes the most outstanding journalists in Broadcast and Print Media around Child Rights Governance. This to a large extent should include media reports on effective participation of children in governance processes for the realization of children’s rights to Health, Education and Protection in Zambia.
Best Responsible Alcohol Consumption This award recognizes the most outstanding print journalist committed to writing articles on smart drinking. Smart drinking is about responsible drinking. It is about drinking with moderation and not letting alcohol run your life or your relationships. It is about curbing underage drinking, binge drinking and illicit alcohol consumption.
Best Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) Media House Award This award recognizes the most outstanding media house in Print, Television and Radio in Antimicrobial Resistance reporting. Antimicrobial resistance occurs when microorganisms such as bacteria, viruses, fungi and parasites change in ways that render the medications used to cure the infections they cause ineffective. Antimicrobial resistance occurs naturally but is facilitated by the inappropriate use of medicines, for example using antibiotics for viral infections such as cold or flu, or sharing antibiotics. Low-quality medicines, wrong prescriptions and poor infection prevention and control also encourage the development and spread of drug resistance. Inadequate national policies and commitment to address these issues, poor surveillance and a diminishing arsenal of tools to diagnose, treat and prevent also hinder the control of antimicrobial drug resistance
Best AMR Media Journalist Award.



This will include journalists from Print, Television, Radio media. For explanation please refer to Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) above.
AMR Media Champion Award



This award recognizes the most outstanding journalist in either Television, Radio and Print. For explanation please refer to Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) above.
Best Public Health Reporting  Award This award recognizes the most outstanding journalist in public health related issues.